Area IX FFA Association Summer Meeting Minutes

Call to order

Meeting called to order at 10:34 AM by Scott Purswell.

A meeting of the Area IX FFA Association was held at the ATAT Summer Conference in Dallas, TX on July 23rd, 2024. Attendees included representatives from a majority of the member schools in Area IX.

Executive Committee members:

Area IX Coordinator – Adam Graham (Onalaska)

President – Scott Purswell (Liberty)

Vice President – Danni Amos (Garrison)

Secretary - Cody Berry (Hudson)

Treasurer – Kelley Foreman (Rusk)

Determined that guidelines for quorum were met, quorum established.

Approval of minutes

• Minutes from previous meeting not read or reviewed.

Announcements

Scott Purswell offered opening remarks, introduced Area leadership and executive committee.

Rex Currie (Warren) gave the invocation

Adam Graham announced that all plaques and banners not yet picked up were at the front of the room, need to be picked up at end of meeting.

Danni Lunsford introduced guests present at meeting, guests gave brief remarks on behalf of their organizations:

- SHSU
- SFASU
- Seitz
- VATAT Credit Union

Introduced new teachers and teachers that had moved schools within Area IX.

Brandon Otto discussed ATAT membership and benefits.

Liz Greene (Buna) discussed Benevolent Fund and possibility of a "lifetime" membership cost. Discussion tabled to be reintroduced with new business.

Reports

Treasurer's report was given by Kelley Foreman.

Noted that schools need to update mailing address for Area IX dues for the upcoming year.

Proposed budget was shared with area prior to meeting, Kelley reviewed proposed budget and discussed particulars and details.

- Motion to accept Brandon Otto (Barbers Hill)
- 2nd Crystal Taylor (Woden)
- MCU
- Proposed budget accepted.

Daniel Odom (Newton) gave Ag Mechanics Committee report.

Laurie Babar (Madisonville) gave report on LEAD experience.

Crystal Taylor (Woden) and Lynita Foster (Madisonville) gave SDE Committee report.

Emily Neuman (Onalaska) gave Ag-Science Fair report.

Jessica Graham (Onalaska) have Scholarship Committee report.

Danni Amos gave Area Camp report.

Tony Goodwin (Shepherd) gave Area Travel Coordinator report.

Trinity Pederson-Coe (Trinity) gave Area Leadership Coordinator report.

Rachel Robinson (Jacksonville) gave Area Convention report.

Adam Graham gave Area Coordinator report.

All available reports attached to minutes

New Business

David Christie (Centerville) requested that minutes be made available to Area in online format. Minutes will be posted to the Area IX website.

Discussion of creating lifetime membership fee for Area IX Benevolent Fund. Currently only available on annual basis. Annual fee is \$10. \$100 lifetime membership fee proposed. Only applicable if payee remains employed at an Area IX school. If payee leaves Area IX and returns they must repay the lifetime fee.

- Motion to accept John VanDevender (Buna)
- 2nd David Christie (Centerville)
- Motion carries unanimously.

Area 9 LDE Contest location and date discussed. Discussed possibility of SFA, Onalaska HS, and Livingston First Baptist Church. Determined SFA is cost prohibitive, Onalaska HS hosting makes it difficult for Onalaska teachers to properly train their own teams.

Decision to hold contest on November 22nd, 2024 at Livingston FBC:

- Motion to accept –Elizabeth Parrish (Kountze)
- 2nd Wade Gartman (West Sabine)
- Motion carries unanimously.

Discussion to have SFA host Area IX Floriculture, Farm Business Management, and Agriculture Technology and Mechanical Systems CDE contests. Adam Graham states that these contests are subject to the "Wild Card" rule at the SHSU contest due to these contests being open to other areas as an invitational. This leaves the possibility of Area IX not having the opportunity to send as many teams that are allotted to the state contest.

Some issues were voiced regarding the effectiveness of the ability for SFA to put on a quality contest that prepares teams for the format of the state contest. Ashlyn Childress (Hudson) stated that the SFA contest has been a duplicate of the HLSR contest for the past few years. She requested that a committee be allowed to review the quality of the contest to ensure the best contest for Area IX teams. Delegation was in agreeance of this and a committee will be formed at a later date.

Motion was made to move Area IX Floriculture contest to SFASU.

- Motioned by Kelley Foreman (Rusk)
- 2nd Wade Gartman (West Sabine)
- Motion carries by popular vote.

Cheyenne Wilson (Livingston) discussed issues with the FBM contest not being representative of the state level contest and that this does not prepare those students in the contest for the level of competition at state. Joe Lane (West Sabine) and Crystal Taylor (Woden) stated that SFA has always put on a quality contest and that it was in the best interest of Area IX as a whole to move the contest so that the maximum number of Area IX teams would qualify for state by eliminating the "Wild Card" rule in place at SHSU contest.

Motion was made to move Area IX Farm Business Management to SFASU.

- Motioned by Joe Lane (West Sabine)
- 2nd Wade Gartman (West Sabine)
- Motion carries by popular vote.

Discussion to move ATMS contest to SFA also.

Motion was made to move Area IX Agricultural Technology & Mechanical Systems to SFASU:

- Motioned by Wade Gartman (West Sabine)
- 2nd Brett Gaylord (Cushing)
- Motion carries unanimously.

Elections

Several elected positions were filled at this year's meeting:

Animal Industry Committee Representative:

- Nominations Cory Taylor (Tarkington) and Aaron Marshall (Barbers Hill)
- Aaron Marshall elected by popular vote.

Competitive Events Committee:

- Nominations Madison Dunn (Rusk), Charlie Harrell (Beaumont), and Jana Wilson (New Waverly)
- Jana Wilson currently serving in position, would like to continue serving. Madison Dunn and Charlie Harrel declined nomination.
- Jana Wilson elected by unanimous consent.

Scholarship Committee, non-voting member:

- Nominations Tyler Root (Vidor) and Madison Dunn (Rusk)
- Madison Dunn elected by popular vote.

Area Secretary

- Nominations Brandon Otto (Barbers Hill) and Madison Dunn (Rusk)
- Brandon Otto elected by popular vote.

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at approximately 1:00 PM. Each district met individually to carry out district level business.

Cody Berry	7/31/24
Secretary	Date of approval